Scientific Advisory Board
  • All
  • Wound care
  • Respiratory
  • Microbiology and biofilms

Scientific Advisory Board

Prof Keith Harding, CBE

Professor Harding CBE is the Welsh Wound Innovation Centre’s Medical Director. With medical practitioner qualifications in both general surgery and general practice, he has held senior academic roles including external professorial appointments in the UK and Australia and the Dean of Clinical Innovation at Cardiff University. He has authored over 350 wound healing publications, lead several European and international expert groups and wound healing societies and is Editor­-in­-chief of the International Wound Journal. He has successfully raised more than £45million for wound healing service delivery in Wales and the UK.  

Prof Harding was awarded a CBE in 2013 for services to Medicine and Health Care and the prestigious Learned Society of Wales Fellowship in 2014.

Prof Stuart Elborn, CBE

Stuart Elborn is Professor of Medicine and Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Medicine, Health and Life Sciences at Queen’s University and a visiting Professor at Imperial College London. His clinical and research interests are focused on identifying new targets and diagnostics for infection and inflammation in lung disease, developing better therapies for people with cystic fibrosis and bronchiectasis and the use of digital platforms and artificial intelligence in healthcare delivery. Prof Elborn was awarded a CBE for services to Healthcare in Northern Ireland in 2013.

Prof Michael Givskov

Michael Givskov is a world-renowned authority in bacterial cell-cell signalling, pioneering the field of non-antibiotic antimicrobials. He is Professor and Director of the Costerton Biofilm Center at the University of Copenhagen and Research Director in the center of excellence SCELSE, Singapore. He has published 350 reviewed research articles, including 25 patent applications/granted patents with an H-index of 113, a total of 43.000 citations and frequently works with industrial partners.

Prof Aras Kadioglu

Aras Kadioglu is Professor of the Bacterial Pathogenesis and Immunity Group at the University of Liverpool’s Institute of Infection & Global Health. He has deep expertise in host pathogen interactions and inflammation, with a particular focus on host cellular immunity to respiratory bacterial infections.

Prof Dr Rolf Müller

Rolf Müller is professor of Pharmaceutical Biotechnology at Saarland University and Managing Director of the Helmholtz Institute for Pharmaceutical Research Saarland (HIPS) where he heads the Department of “Microbial Natural Products” (MINS). He co-founded PharmBioTec GmbH in Saarbrücken and coordinates the thematic unit “Novel Antibiotics at the German Center for Infection Research (DZIF). Prof Müller’s research has earned him numerous awards and he was elected to the National Academy of Sciences (Leopoldina) in 2016.

Prof Dr Rudolf Morgenstern

Rudolf Morgenstern has degrees in medical science and toxicology and has served as Director of the Institute of Pharmacology and Toxicology at Charité Berlin.  He is Professor Emeritus at the Institute of Pharmacology at Charité Berlin and  the Vice-chairman of the (Research) Ethics Committee of the Charité. Prof Morgenstern has published over 100 peer-reviewed articles.